phpBB2Refugees.com Logo
Not affiliated with or endorsed by the phpBB Group

Register •  Login 

Continue the legacy...

Welcome to all phpBB2 Refugees!Wave Smilie

This site is intended to continue support for the legacy 2.x line of the phpBB2 bulletin board package. If you are a fan of phpBB2, please, by all means register, post, and help us out by offering your suggestions. We are primarily a community and support network. Our secondary goal is to provide a phpBB2 MOD Author and Styles area.

MultiBoards
1 members found this topic helpful
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Search this topic... | Search General Support... | Search Box
Register or Login to Post    Index » General Support  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Author Message
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:10 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Yes .htaccess has also been updated as you posted. What should the permissions be set to on that BTW? Currently it is 644 .

Yes I saw the "test" file created in the root folder. I am curious though that it has not file extension its simply listed as "test" with a default Icon.

Image link

When I open that file I can see the content of the file consists of only that one line of php. But why would it post the script instead of running the script?

The only think I can think of is a possibility that its not running the correct version of php. Its running php5 right now and I have changed it to php4 to see if that will make a difference..What do you think?

_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
drathbun
Board Member



Joined: 24 Jul 2008

Posts: 653
Location: Texas


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 4:39 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Going to move this to the Support forum, thanks.
_________________
phpBBDoctor Blog
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 6:45 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

I have been playing around with the permissions to try to see if I could get past this and now I am getting this:
I changed the domain to yourdomain.com in the image of course..
Image link

Even after I changed the permissions back to 644..

I also tried php4 and php5. still nothing..

This is frustrating..Image link

Any ideas?

_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
Jim_UK
Board Member



Joined: 19 Nov 2008

Posts: 544
Location: North West UK


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 6:57 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Sadly I have no ideas on this. Provided the permissions are correctly set then I see no reason that it will not work other than either some incompatibility or some setting of Godaddy.

I am on PHP 4.4.4 and Mysql 4.1.22 but of course there are a hell of a lot of settings for server configuration.

Can you Email me a link to your site and I will try and create a board. My email address from the link below.

Jim
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:00 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Ok. But it happens in every browser. I tried it in FireFox IE Safari and Opera also.. They all do basically the same thing.
_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
drathbun
Board Member



Joined: 24 Jul 2008

Posts: 653
Location: Texas


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:38 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

It looks like php is not configured properly. Are other php files working?
_________________
phpBBDoctor Blog
Back to top
Jim_UK
Board Member



Joined: 19 Nov 2008

Posts: 544
Location: North West UK


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:52 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

The file that it barfs at has no extension shown but has this content
Quote:
<?php define("MFORUM", "test"); include("seo.php"); ?>


On my server set up there is no problem. His other files that have a .php extension are working ok.

Jim
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:59 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

I'll try to give it a php extension and see what happens.. It couldn't get worse I guess..

Edit: OMG It Worked...

Try it..It only needs to have the .php on the end of the one file created in the root when a forum is activated..

Now how to get it to create the file with the extension already on it...

I'm looking into how to get it to create the file extension with the file now.

_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
Jim_UK
Board Member



Joined: 19 Nov 2008

Posts: 544
Location: North West UK


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:00 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Now mine works without the extension .php. Under present set up you would have to add the extension with your ftp client each time a new board is created.
My guess is that it is a setting that Godaddy have that is stopping it seeing that file for what it is.

Jim

Edit
Just logged in to the board I created earlier and accessed admin control panel.
Looks like you are in business.
When you upload extra styles from your desktop be sure to leave them within the .zip file.
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:21 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

OK thanks Yes I renamed your "Jim" file to "Jim.php"

I guess If I can't figure out how to get it to place the file with the proper extension I can just rename them as they come in.

I think the actual code is in the forums2.php though. It may just be a simple edit of that file. At first glance it looks like it could be one of the lines near the bottom of that file that is responsible for creating the file. I will have to brush up on my php to figure this out.

Do you see that bit of code?

Code:
$file = fopen($access, 'wb');
fwrite($file, '<?php define("MFORUM", "'.$access.'"); include("seo.php"); ?>');
fclose($file);
mysql_db_query($dbname, 'insert into phpbb_forums values("'.$access.'", "'.$email.'", '.$cat.')', $link);

_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
drathbun
Board Member



Joined: 24 Jul 2008

Posts: 653
Location: Texas


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:49 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

I used to know how to fix that; let me see if I can look it up. It is a php.ini configuration entry, or maybe apache, so do you think godaddy would make that change for you if you need it?

Basically the standard process is the file type is used to select the handler. So .html and .php and .cgi don't all get processed by the same part of the application. When you don't have a type, the default is to treat it as unknown. There is an option that says to look inside the file for an indication of what the content is, which would detect the php content and react accordingly.

You might be able to google to find out what the solution is, as I can't get to it right away.

_________________
phpBBDoctor Blog
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:01 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

I have spoken to GoDaddy and honestly they are not very helpful. The knowledge is scattered around their support department. But Honestly I know more then most of their support staff. Which can become rather frustrating..

They are not trained for any kind of scripting so as soon as you start talking about scripting they start squirming a bit.. I ask them to setup the FTP to do just want you said and if I could see their eyes I'll bet they were as big as pie plates. Now that I know whats wrong it may just be easier to update the script itself so it puts the extension on the file as its created.

Once this is done I think I can do a tut for this so others don't have this issue. If they do at least they will know what's going on. This was no where to be found on the internet so phpbb2refugees has an exclusive on this one. icon_biggrin.gif

I found people having the problem but no one knew what the solution was..

_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:59 am 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Noxwizard wrote:
Google is your friend.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multiforums

I used to use NBS on one of my sites.


I am trying this Multi forum out now. It looks pretty good except I cant seem to add Styles to it.

I upload them and checked the permissions. 755 folders and 644 files but it does not show up in the Styles admin. Any Ideas?

_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
Holger
Board Member



Joined: 19 Jan 2009

Posts: 509
Location: Hanover


flag
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:44 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

Sorry to just pop in like this, but are you still trying the AMFR-script?
I am running it for some time now.
It does not work on many servers.
Back to top
~Cowboy~
Board Member



Joined: 08 Dec 2008

Posts: 297
Location: Chicago


flag
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:54 pm 
Post subject: Re: MultiBoards

I was still trying the AMFR script but having some issues with that one too. Did you know that if you create a new theme with that and enter nothing in the fields it crashes the style? Then it makes that crashed style available to all other boards? That is truly annoying. I was hoping for a good clean install on one of these MF Platforms so that I could start modding it right away but it looks like the 2 I have tried are not being very user friendly.. I could use any help or advice you can give me though icon_biggrin.gif
_________________
Image link
We are not refugees we are trail blazers. icon_wink.gif
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Register or Login to Post    Index » General Support  Previous TopicPrint TopicNext Topic
Page 4 of 5 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Jump to:  

Index • About • FAQ • Rules • Privacy • Search •  Register •  Login 
Not affiliated with or endorsed by the phpBB Group
Powered by phpBB2 © phpBB Group
Generated in 0.0150 seconds using 15 queries. (SQL 0.0025 Parse 0.0006 Other 0.0118)
phpBB Customizations by the phpBBDoctor.com
Template Design by DeLFlo and MomentsOfLight.com Moments of Light Logo